What a Tiny House Taught Me

The Importance of Community and Connection

Cat Strav
6 min readApr 6, 2021
A computer screen is open in the midst of blooms and a lovely garden.
This garden was my gateway to the tiny house. I sat here to read and write. Photo credit Cat Stravino

After 12 years in a 5,000 sq. foot mansion, caring for more stuff than I could ever use, I sold most of it and moved 1,000 miles to attend technical school and change careers. My dreams changed. I longed for living small. For many reasons, the tiny house movement is a trend that appeals to many.

Little did I realize at the time, my experience only solidified what Covid-19 has emphasized, the importance of community.

Let me start at the beginning, how I landed in a tiny house.

I could no longer afford the large house, and had to return to school to get a job.

While in tech school in 2018, one of my fellow students and I would share links to photos and descriptions of tiny homes. He grew up in Montana, while I was from the East Coast. The simplicity and appeal of owning a home without the burden of a 30-year mortgage called to us.

I dreamt

When I graduated in 2019, I moved out of state and was scheduled to sign a lease at a large apartment complex. I had to move quickly and had little options. I know the exact date, May 24, 2019, and it is readily confirmed by news articles that ran that day.

--

--

Cat Strav

Yogi. Wordsmith. Hutch Pup. Diagnosed with I.O. (idiotic optimism) since an early age.